Twitter & Facebook are no more: I’m taking my voice and going silent for now

Kids-reading-in-the-forest-002-1024x768

Time for some quiet reading and studying, without distractions.

I’m going offline for a while. I deactivated my Twitter and Facebook accounts. I will refrain from posting on this site for an extended period. I’m going to spend more time on writing and studying for myself in the next several months or more. I had half-jokingly told a couple of friends I would solve some puzzling biblical issues. That was a couple of years ago and I still haven’t gotten to those. I will settle in and get to some thorough studying without the distraction that comes from the need to post something interesting every few days.

I enjoy reading the bible just for my own personal discovery. It’s time to re-acquaint myself with some of the biblical study tools that have gotten a little dusty of late.  I have a pretty good-sized library that has been only slightly used of late.

I have been recently intrigued to learn that the great Isaac Newton spent many years in private study of the scriptures. It wasn’t until after his death that his detailed studies had come to light.

I will also return to my earlier love of reading fiction books. I had let that fall away with the busyness of life. Life is still busy but I am going to push myself away from too much computer time and replace it will good reading time. There is nothing like a good story. I hope to discover more good authors and story-tellers to help inspire my story-telling skills.

reading in the forest

I will leave this site live so readers can check out the archives. There are over 400 articles. Please enjoy as many and as often as you like and share them on your social networks.

I was a quiet boy who barely spoke above a whisper in school. God surprisingly led me to speak to tens of thousands of kids and adults over a thirty year period in America and abroad.

Fear of speaking in public? Hah! I had that more than most and yet God showed me how to conquer it every time I stepped up to speak. Now its time to go quiet again; do some studying and reading and get ready for what comes next.

mist trail

I know the road won’t always be easy, in fact I enjoy a good challenge. The end of the trail always leads to newer and often greater discoveries. I’m looking forward to the hike.

Talk to you later…

Clay Writer

About Doug Drake

http://www.amazon.com/Training-Dream-Warrior-Doug-Drake/dp/1449761011/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1346020552&sr=8-1&keywords=the+training+of+a+dream+warrior A Christian, bible student, carpenter, broken-home (childhood) survivor!, children's pastor, lover of life sciences and the outdoors, reader, writer, eager to learn new things. I have begun to write! "The Training of a Dream Warrior is my first published book. I am very excited about it and would be happy to hear what you think of it. It is directed at kids ten years of age and older. It has plenty of story for adults too. Please grab a dozen for the neighbor kids and one for yourself. Clay Writer
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Twitter & Facebook are no more: I’m taking my voice and going silent for now

  1. I’ll miss you, Doug. I hope you will keep in touch. I’ve really appreciated your friendship and thoughts. YA bless you wherever your path may lead.

    Warm Regards,
    Bill

    • ddclaywriter says:

      Same here Bill,
      It’s been great sharing thoughts and ideas and hopefully inspiring each other to further study.
      Keep studying, writing and sharing your discoveries.

      I pray the Lord will continue to bless and guide your path as well.

      May He continue to open your eyes of understanding and give you great insight into his word.

      God bless you,

      Doug

  2. Rene Yoshi says:

    Although I don’t always keep up in a timely manner and sometimes miss some of your posts, you will be missed. I pray your time of ‘solitude and silence’ is profitable and blessed. :)

    • ddclaywriter says:

      Thank you Rene,
      It’s been a pleasure to talk with you, read your posts and comments and see your heart for the Lord.

      I do enjoy a little ‘silence and solitude.’ I can hear a lot better then.

      Thank you for your time.

      God bless you,

      Doug

  3. bobby90247 says:

    Have a Happy Holiday season, also! If you are doing research on Scripture, I would like to suggest you check out “Proof Directory” as they use Scripture to interpret…Scripture.

    Also, you will have access to Thomas McElwain, whom I personally consider one of today’s most knowledgeable men on Religion (yeah, I’m biased…as I said, it’ “my” personal opinion)!!!

    Take Care and God Bless!

  4. bobby90247 says:

    Oh yeah, check out my “blog site” (for what it’s worth) as I re-post things that interest me…only.

    It’s more of a repository of articles that I want to have access to at a later date and therefore it’s a “potpourri” of subjects. Once in a while, I’ll make a “personal” commentary.

Leave a Reply

