When everything goes bad and you lose it all…where will your faith be?

habakkuk-series-banner-graphic-3-copy
I love this little book of prophecy, but it’s not just a prophetic book. It’s a book of practical living.

When I read it I am forced to wonder how I would do when faced with the trials that were to come into this prophets life. Do I need to have good times, happy faces and abundance to be strong in faith?

Well if I do then I have no faith at all do I? That’s not faith; that’s just living the good life. People of strong faith can’t live the good life. Faith doesn’t grow there.

If you lost everything would you still have faith in God?

Is your faith based on the belief that a good and loving God will only allow good things to come into your life?

Is your faith strong when things are good and weak or non-existent if the essentials of your life are gone?

What if all you cling to was gone and it was the very God you love who said he was going to take it all away?

The prophet was told the future of Israel was going to be very bad. Did he curse God and say it wasn’t fair?

“Why not the other guy!?”

I remember reading where Jesus told Peter he was going to die a horrible death some day. Peter’s first response was to point to John and say, “What about him?”

That’s our natural response.

Jesus had great things for Peter and for John, but we all walk a different life than those around us. God wants us to have strong faith.

Will you let him take everything? I know I want to hang on to a few things, but then I’m just human.

Habakkuk 3:17-19 “Although the fig tree shall not blossom, neither shall fruit be in the vines; the labor of the olive shall fail, and the fields shall yield no meat; the flock shall be cut off from the fold, and there shall be no herd in the stalls;

Yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will joy in the God of my salvation.

The Lord God is my strength, and he will make my feet like hinds’ feet, and he will make me to walk upon mine high places.”

Did you know that the Lord wants to see this kind of faith in all of us?

How will that happen? We can’t grow in faith…strong faith if the Lord never allows difficulties to come to our lives.

Philippians 4: 12 ” I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.”

Paul learned how to suffer need, by being in want and trusting God in that situation.

He learned to praise God when he was full and when he was hungry. Can you do that? Can I?

It’s a scary thought, but God wants to strengthen your faith.

Clay Writer

About Doug Drake

http://www.amazon.com/Training-Dream-Warrior-Doug-Drake/dp/1449761011/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1346020552&sr=8-1&keywords=the+training+of+a+dream+warrior A Christian, bible student, carpenter, broken-home (childhood) survivor!, children's pastor, lover of life sciences and the outdoors, reader, writer, eager to learn new things. I have begun to write! "The Training of a Dream Warrior is my first published book. I am very excited about it and would be happy to hear what you think of it. It is directed at kids ten years of age and older. It has plenty of story for adults too. Please grab a dozen for the neighbor kids and one for yourself. Clay Writer
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When everything goes bad and you lose it all…where will your faith be?

  1. Andy Oldham says:

    Thank you for this teaching! It’s goes with my post last week. I needed this and I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

